TO: JOHN P. BOHENKO, CITY MANAGER

FROM: KELLI L. BARNABY, CITY CLERK

RE: ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE PORTSMOUTH CITY COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON

JANUARY 7, 2002, COUNCIL CHAMBER, MUNICIPAL COMPLEX, ONE JUNKINS

AVENUE, PORTSMOUTH, NEW HAMPSHIRE

PRESENT: MAYOR SIRRELL, ASSISTANT MAYOR HANSON, COUNCILORS GRASSO, LOWN,

HYNES, PANTELAKOS, WHITEHOUSE, MARCONI AND ST. LAURENT

ABSENT: NONE

1. The following officials elected at the November 6, 2001 Municipal Election took the Oath of Office. Mayor Sirrell's Address followed this.

Fire Commission: Richard Gamester and Paul T. Wentworth

Police Commission: Gerald W. Howe and William F. Devine

<u>School Board:</u> Charles L. Vaughn, Kent L. LaPage, Nansi B. Craig, Colleen

MacLeod Montminy, and Henry Clay Hayward

City Council: Joanne M. Grasso, Bradley M. Lown, John W. Hynes, Laura C.

Pantelakos, Harold Whitehouse, Evelyn E. Marconi and William L. St.

Laurent

Assistant Mayor: Alex Hanson

Mayor: Evelyn Sirrell

- 2. <u>Acceptance of Rules and Orders of the City Council</u> Voted to accept and approve the Rules and Orders of the City Council as submitted.
- 3. <u>Adoption of 2002 City Council Schedule</u> Voted to approve the 2002 City Council Schedule as submitted.
- 4. <u>Committee Assignments for City Councilors</u> Mayor Sirrell announced the Committee Assignments for the City Council as follows:

<u>Assistant Mayor Hanson</u> – Audit and Joint Budget Committee, Chamber of Commerce, New Library Building Committee, Parking Committee, and Traffic and Safety Committee

<u>Councilor Grasso</u> – Audit and Joint Budget Committee, Historic District Commission, Joint Building Committee (Schools), New Library Building Committee, and Recycling Project Oversight Committee

<u>Councilor Lown</u> – Joint Loss Management Committee, and Planning Board

<u>Councilor Hynes</u> – Economic Development Commission, New Library Building Committee, Pease Development Authority Liaison, Rockingham Planning Commission, and Veterans' Affairs Organization Liaison

<u>Councilor Pantelakos</u> – Blue Ribbon Committee on Dogs, Joint Building Committee (Schools), Legislative Delegation and Recreation Board

<u>Councilor Whitehouse</u> – Audit and Joint Budget Committee, Peirce Island Study Committee, Taxi Commission, Vendors' Committee and Veterans' Affairs Organization Liaison

Councilor Marconi – Peirce Island Study Committee

<u>Councilor St. Laurent</u> – Fee Schedule Study Committee and Joint Building Committee (Schools)

5. <u>Appointment of Library Building Committee</u> – Voted to adopt the appointment of Library Building Committee members as submitted by Mayor Sirrell.

<u>Committee Members:</u> Chairman John O'Leary, Peter Bresciano, Lenore Bronson, Suzanne Ford, John Grossman, Todd Hanson, Kate Leith, Paul McEachern, Claudia Morner, George Robinson, Gary Rothenburger, Carvel Tefft, Library Trustee Phyllis Eldridge, Ex-Officio City Manager John Bohenko and Ex-Officio Library Director Sherman Pridham

6. At 7:50 p.m., voted to adjourn.

Respectfully submitted by:

Kelli L. Barnaby, City Clerk