TO: JOHN P. BOHENKO, CITY MANAGER

FROM: KELLI L. BARNABY, CITY CLERK

RE: ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE PORTSMOUTH CITY COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON

JANUARY 5, 2004, COUNCIL CHAMBER, MUNICIPAL COMPLEX, ONE JUNKINS

AVENUE, PORTSMOUTH, NEW HAMPSHIRE

PRESENT: MAYOR SIRRELL, ASSISTANT MAYOR HANSON, COUNCILORS GRASSO,

FERRINI, MARCHAND, PANTELAKOS, HYNES, RAYNOLDS, AND WHITEHOUSE.

1. The following officials elected at the November 4, 2003 Municipal Election took the Oath of Office: Michael Hughes, Fire Commission; John Kelley, Police Commission; Ann Walker, Nancy Novelline Clayburgh, John Lyons, Roseann Clark, School Board; Joanne Grasso, Thomas Ferrini, Steve Marchand, Laura Pantelakos, John Hynes, Edward Raynolds, Harold Whitehouse, City Council; Assistant Mayor Alex Hanson and Mayor Evelyn Sirrell.

Mayor Sirrell gave her inauguration address.

- 2. <u>Acceptance of Rules and Orders of the City Council</u> Voted to accept and approve the Rules and Orders of the City Council as submitted.
- 3. <u>Committee Assignments for City Councilors</u> Mayor Sirrell announced the Committee Assignments for the City Council as follows:

<u>Assistant Mayor Hanson</u> – Audit and Joint Budget Committee, Chamber of Commerce, New Library Building Committee, Parking Committee, Traffic and Safety Committee

<u>Councilor Grasso</u> – Audit and Joint Budget Committee, Historic District Commission, Joint Building Committee (Schools), New Library Building Committee

<u>Councilor Ferrini</u> – Joint Building Committee (Schools) and Planning Board

<u>Councilor Marchand</u> – Blue Ribbon Committee on Dogs, Feasibility Study for Middle School, Peirce Island Study Committee, Rockingham Planning Commission

<u>Councilor Pantelakos</u> – Blue Ribbon Committee on Dogs, Joint Building Committee (Schools), Legislative Delegation, Recreation Board

<u>Councilor Hynes</u> – Economic Development Commission, New Library Building Committee, Pease Development Authority Liaison, Veterans' Affairs Organization Liaison

<u>Councilor Raynolds</u> – Fee Schedule Committee, Joint Loss Management Committee, Peirce Island Study Committee, Recycling Project Oversight Committee, Vendors' Committee

<u>Councilor Whitehouse</u> – Audit and Joint Budget Committee, Peirce Island Study Committee, Taxi Commission, Veterans' Affairs Organization Liaison

4. At 7:40 p.m., voted to adjourn.

Respectfully submitted by: Kelli L. Barnaby, City Clerk