CITY COUNCIL MEETING

MUNICIPAL COMPLEX DATE: THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2007 PORTSMOUTH, NH TIME: 6:30 PM

I. CALL TO ORDER

Councilor Grasso called the meeting to order at 6:40 p.m.

II. ROLL CALL

<u>Present:</u> Councilors Grasso, Dwyer, Raynolds, Whitehouse, Smith and Hynes

Absent: Mayor Marchand, Assistant Mayor Ferrini and Councilor Pantelakos

III. INVOCATION

Councilor Grasso asked everyone to join in a moment of silent prayer.

IV. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Councilor Whitehouse led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

V. CANVASS OF THE VOTE OF THE NOVEMBER 6, 2007 MUNICIPAL ELECTION

City Clerk Barnaby provided the City Council with copies of the November 6, 2007 Municipal Election results and requested the City Council accept the results as presented.

The following positions were elected:

City Council 2 year term

Mayor Thomas Ferrini Assistant Mayor John "Jack" Blalock Councilor Nancy Novelline Clayburgh Councilor M. Christine Dwyer Councilor Kenneth Smith Councilor Esther Kennedy Councilor Eric Spear Councilor Edward "Ned" Raynolds Councilor Laura Pantelakos

School Board 4 year term

Ann Walker, Rebecca Emerson-Brown, Elizabeth "Lisa" Sweet, and Dexter Legg

Fire Commission 4 year term Michael Hughes

Police Commission 4 year term John Golumb

Ward Moderators 2 year term

Petra Pantelakos-Barstow - Ward 1 Robert Padian – Ward 2 Charlene Kane – Ward 3 Cristin Pugliese – Ward 4 Jacqueline Pitts – Ward 5

Ward Clerks 2 year term

Joseph Pantelakos – Ward 1 Robin LeBlanc – Ward 2 Catherine Cosgrove – Ward 3 Gerald Ward – Ward 4 John Grossman – Ward 5

Ward Selectmen 2 year term

Joann Wyckoff, Nancy Brown, and Penny Reynolds – Ward 1 Roddy Cole, Diane Schaefer, and Leslie McCarthy – Ward 2 Jennifer Fahey, Cheryl VanWert, and Angelynne Hinson – Ward 3 Sharon Nichols, Rahul Sivaprasad, and J. Kristine Slater – Ward 4 D. Dianne Chambers, Nancy Grossman, and Brian Wazlaw – Ward 5

Registrar of Voters 2 year term

Tylene Jousse – Ward 1 Candace Thayer – Ward 2 Carlos Castro – Ward 3 Elizabeth "Betsy" Shultis – Ward 4 Eva Powers – Ward 5

Registrar of Voters At Large 2 year term

George Shultis

Councilor Smith moved to accept the election results of the November 6, 2007 Municipal Election contained in the report of the City Clerk dated November 6, 2007 and declare the top vote recipients as elected. Seconded by Councilor Whitehouse and voted.

City Clerk Barnaby advised the City Council that she has received two requests for a recount, one from Jerry Hejtmanek for the City Council race and the second from John "Jack" Kelley for the Police Commission race. She reported that the recount has been scheduled for Monday, November 19, 2007 and Tuesday, November 20, 2007. City Clerk Barnaby said that the recount will begin on Monday, November 19th at 7:30 a.m. and end by 4:00 p.m. as there is a City Council meeting that evening. On Tuesday, November 20th the recount will recommence at 7:30 a.m. and end when all wards are completed. She explained the process informing the City Council that Monday Wards One, Two and Three will be counted and Wards Four and Five will be done on Tuesday. In addition, both races will be counted at the same time in order not to handle the ballots twice.

City Manager Bohenko said it is important to understand that City Clerk Barnaby put a great deal of effort in preparing and holding this Municipal Election and a great deal of effort will be put forth in preparing and conducting the recount and thanked her for her hard work. In addition, he noted that City Clerk Barnaby is also awaiting the Secretary of State to establish the date for the Presidential Primary Election.

Councilor Smith also expressed his thanks to City Clerk Barnaby for her hard work with the election as well as her day to day responsibilities.

City Clerk Barnaby also announced that this will be a hand recount in accordance with State Statute.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

At 7:55 p.m., Councilor Whitehouse moved to adjourn. Seconded and voted.

& Barnaby

Kelli L. Barnaby, CMC City Clerk