# CITY COUNCIL MEETING

MUNICIPAL COMPLEX DATE: THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 10, 2011

PORTSMOUTH, NH TIME: 6:00 PM

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Ferrini called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

## II. ROLL CALL

<u>Present:</u> Mayor Ferrini, Assistant Mayor Novelline Clayburgh, Councilors Lister, Hejtmanek, Spear, Dwyer and Smith

Absent: Councilors Coviello and Kennedy

#### III. INVOCATION

Mayor Ferrini asked everyone to join in a moment of silent prayer.

# IV. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Ferrini led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.

Mayor Ferrini asked City Attorney Sullivan to explain the purpose for the Canvass of the Vote.

City Attorney Sullivan stated the Canvass of the Vote is an action of the City Council as required by the City Charter. It is a formal acceptance of the results and report from the City Clerk. He further stated that candidates can be challenged within 7 days for the basis of a recount. In conclusion, City Attorney Sullivan reported that we haven't received any challenges at this time.

# V. CANVASS OF THE VOTE OF THE NOVEMBER 8, 2011 MUNICIPAL ELECTION

City Clerk Barnaby provided the City Council with copies of the November 8, 2011 Municipal Election results and requested the City Council accept the results as presented.

The following positions were elected:

#### City Council 2 year term

Mayor Eric Spear Assistant Mayor Robert "Bob" Lister Councilor Anthony "Tony" Coviello Councilor Esther Kennedy Councilor Nancy Novelline Clayburgh Councilor Brad Lown Councilor M. Christine Dwyer Councilor Kenneth Smith Councilor Jack Thorsen School Board 4 year term

Ann Walker, Mary Olea, Patrick Ellis and Dexter Legg

## Fire Commission 4 year term

Michael Hughes

## Police Commission 4 year term

John Golumb

## Ward Moderators 2 year term

Petra Pantelakos-Barstow - Ward 1 Timothy Wheelock – Ward 2 Raymond Mullaly – Ward 3 Gerald Ward – Ward 4 Brian Wazlaw – Ward 5

## Ward Clerks 2 year term

Joseph Pantelakos – Ward 1 Susan Denenberg – Ward 2 Catherine Cosgrove – Ward 3 Maurice Foster – Ward 4 Nancy Grossman – Ward 5

# Ward Selectmen 2 year term

Joann Wyckoff, Nancy Brown and Daniel Comly – Ward 1 Leslie McCarthy, Diane Stradling and Daniel Rawling – Ward 2 William St. Laurent, Jennifer Fahey and Shirley Mullaly– Ward 3 Patricia Rowe, Frank Cook and Sharon Nichols – Ward 4 Valerie Fagin, Susan Hubbard and Kent Hubbard – Ward 5

#### Registrar of Voters 2 year term

Penny Reynolds – Ward 1 Candace Thayer – Ward 2 Angelynne Hinson – Ward 3 Barbara Ward – Ward 4 Sherwood Spelke – Ward 5

# Registrar of Voters At Large 2 year term

Eva Powers

Councilor Spear moved to approve and accept the November 8, 2011 Municipal Election Results as presented by City Clerk Barnaby. Seconded by Councilor Hejtmanek and voted.

# VI. ADJOURNMENT

At 6:05 p.m., Councilor Hejtmanek moved to adjourn. Seconded by Councilor Lister and voted.

Kulif Barnaby

Kelli L. Barnaby, CMC/CNHMC City Clerk